By Way of an Introduction….

I’m not just doing this because it’s the obligatory thing to do if you’re a writer in LA. Sure that’s part of it, and while I don’t enjoy the feeling I get when I open my white ’08 Mac at the Starbucks like a little hipster, I just recently realized that there are a lot of things in this world that I don’t like. Well, I knew that, but for all the frustration in life, the thing I really enjoy is writing. Not that writing isn’t frustrating; there are times I’d really rather be working as a coal miner or a test subject for the newest unseemly narcotic, but the point is writing is the one frustrating job that I inevitably come back to. The fact that there’s this bizarre magnetic stronghold to it is something I’m finally deciding must be faced. First on my list of problems to tackle is what does a writer write about?

The trouble with being an introvert is that real life experiences tend to be of the sitting-at-home-in-front-of-your-computer ilk. That whole write what you know thing can only stretch so far, but then again I’m pretty sure Steven Moffat doesn’t time travel, George Lucas has never been to Endor, and Joss Whedon does not, has not, and will never fight vampires, so maybe that saying is a little dodgy to begin with.

So this blog might just be a way to get rid of some of the things cramping up my mind, it might be a brand new procrastination technique, and will very likely be more that a bit dull at times, but one thing that I can promise, and this is a point I feel I’ve already well established in a single post, there will be rambling.

Lots and lots of rambling….

About Risa Romano

Writer type thing. I work on stories for kids when I'm on the clock and screenplays quite a bit less for kids when I'm not. I have a blog: rambleonnerdyponderings.wordpress.com I'm also the creator and moderator of the Doctor Who vodcast/podcast A Disused Yeti: https://adisusedyeti.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

