To Save a Princess, You Have to Kill a Few Frogs

Chapter the 1st, in which my brother and I discover that Super Mario Brothers is twice as much fun to play, when speaking with southern accents.

The title, of course, stems from the fact that when you are in Water World there are certain levels in which it would behoove you to wear a Froggy suit.

But I’m always timid to do so because Mario and Luigi are so adorable when dressed up as little frogs that I’m twice as sad when they die. To which my brother responds by screaming, “just use the stupid frog suit!” And sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t.

Last night however, I got about a half a dozen frogs suits and had no opportunity to wear them, such was my concern for saving the frogs. Naturally, this was also counterproductive, because we didn’t get to see Luigi (who I was playing) in the frog suit as much as we would have otherwise. Even if I promptly died after donning it.

My brother argued that I don’t have a firm grasp on how the game is played. The concept is to save the princess, not hop around in frog suits.

But it was kinda of hard to take him seriously in his fake southern accent.

About Risa Romano

Writer type thing. I work on stories for kids when I'm on the clock and screenplays quite a bit less for kids when I'm not. I have a blog: rambleonnerdyponderings.wordpress.com I'm also the creator and moderator of the Doctor Who vodcast/podcast A Disused Yeti: https://adisusedyeti.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Culture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

